Wrapping My Head Around the Big Picture (interview excerpt)

Standard

Sometimes I find myself focusing far too much on the tiny details–financial aspects of growing my business, what steps to take next, mistakes I see in hindsight, or opportunities for improvement–and I forget to keep my eye on the “Big Picture”.

I was recently interviewed for a practice growth magazine, and after the interview, I realized that the entire interview experience–telling my story to someone who didn’t know me–helped me to wrap my head around the whole story at once. The Big Picture. I actually wanted to hug the guy that interviewed me because I was so excited about it.

The past few months have been pretty hectic for me, so it’s more important than ever that I’m intentionally thinking about my path… How I got here, where I am, and where I’m going. And it has GOT to be intentional… If you don’t slow down and appreciate the journey that you’re on, it’ll be over before you know it.

Below is an excerpt from the soon-to-be-published interview. Maybe it will help you to understand a little better what exactly the Scheduling Institute does, and how we can help you.

Q: A lot of doctors know you as “that guy who sends a ton of marketing”. What would you say to these doctors? How would you describe what your company does?

A: The truth is, a lot of people assume I’m a scam artist when actually, I’ve been analyzing Practices for over 25 years now, which means I’ve literally worked with tens of thousands of doctors and team members around the world. I realized a while back that I wanted to work with doctors because most doctors are overworked, under-earning and not living up to their God-given potential. I just saw a huge opportunity for exploding that industry and taking doctors to a whole new level of success. My company, the Scheduling Institute, starts the process by engaging and training the doctor’s team—a Practice’s largest overhead expense—and turning them into this secret weapon. All we have to do is help them unlock the solution to extreme growth.

The Scheduling Institute has a unique ability to physically send trainers into offices anywhere in the world every single day. Actually, I recently got the exciting news that we’ve officially completed our 10,000th team training! And we are receiving an absolute outpouring of positive feedback from all the offices we’ve trained—the positive results are flooding our inboxes, and we love it.

 

Q: You mentioned unlocking “the solution to extreme growth”. Can you explain what you mean by that?

A: New patients are 100% the key to unlocking a Practice’s full potential. It’s that simple. I’ve devoted countless magazine articles, seminars and workshops to really digging into and exposing this one concept because it is hands down the biggest missed opportunity in the industry. It’s the whole concept that the Scheduling Institute was founded upon. Doctors are literally losing hundreds of thousands of dollars every year because they aren’t investing the time, energy and money into making new patients their number one priority. Let me put it this way: the Scheduling Institute can add 10 to 60 percent more new patients to a Practice with little or no changes in their marketing or advertising by simply leveraging their team. It all starts with training each team to understand the importance of new patients and to maximize their new patient process. It definitely takes an inside experience to truly “get” what we do, but just know that we’ve cracked the code and for any that doctor that wants to grow his Practice—I’m telling you, it all starts with new patients.

Q: What exactly does the Scheduling Institute do to generate new patients?

A: We don’t generate new patients, we actually recover patients that each Practice is currently losing, but don’t even know about. Ninety-eight percent of new patients call before coming into the office. This means a doctor’s front desk staff is a patient’s first impression and the “gate-keeper” to the schedule. If the staff is trained properly, they could be serious revenue producers in the Practice and help to increase new patients. But if not, they could be costing more than just their salary or hourly rate.

Q: When did you realize that new patients were the key to unlocking a Practice’s success potential?

A: When I was in my early twenties, I worked as the Marketing Director for a midsized Practice in Atlanta, the Sparlin Chiropractic Clinic. I remember realizing one day that the phones were ringing a ton, but for some reason, we weren’t booking very many new patients… Which meant there was some sort of disconnect happening on the phones. So, I started listening to all of the phone calls that came through the Practice. I developed a strategic system for answering the phones, a formula that would maximize that first interaction with the potential patient. What happened next was completely surreal. Within one week of using my new system, the Practice scheduled over 600 new patients—a new patient world record. So that got me thinking, and I came up with the idea for the Scheduling Institute. It hit me how important and groundbreaking this would be for so many Practices, and I didn’t want to keep that secret solution to myself. I’ll admit it… I wanted to change the world!

Q: It sounds like you were very ambitious from an early age. How did you get started on that path?

A: When I was 18, my mentor, Dr. Alan Goodwin, and I developed a board game that was designed to help kids make positive life decisions. It was called Drugs and Alcohol: Play it Straight. It sounds simple, but at the time, drug prevention was just emerging as a major national issue. We ended up selling the game to school systems around the country to use as a tool, and we successfully sold over a million dollars worth. I was really proud of the game and what it stood for, but I also learned a lesson about the power of marketing at a relatively early age because of this experience. It imprinted me with this desire to make a difference in the world, and that has never gone away.

 

Q: Could you give us a little taste of the big picture? How do you see the Scheduling Institute making a measurable difference in the world?

A: I guess it might help to start by explaining that I don’t have to do this job. I’ve been financially capable of retirement since I was 18, and I could buy anything that a person could possibly want. I don’t say that to sound arrogant; it’s just the truth. But on my own, I can’t touch all the lives that I want to touch. On my own, I can’t affect the amount of people around the world that I want to affect. In fact, I can impact the most people by doing this exact job— by helping doctors to become incredibly successful.

The big picture is the long-term growth of each Practice, but the BIGGER picture is giving. Generosity. We encourage all of our clients to give back to their communities, and we lead by example. If I help thousands upon thousands of doctors to become extremely financially successful, and then challenge them to give back to their communities, they are creating ripples throughout their communities, even in ways that can’t be measured.

Imagine 100 successful businesspeople in one city giving back ten percent to the community. Ten percent of $100,000 is $10,000, multiplied by 100… That’s a million dollars! By personally giving back to my community, encouraging my team to give back, inspiring my clients to give back, and training THEIR teams to give back—I’m working to created a domino effect of impact. Impact that is enormous and ongoing.

Another big picture goal is to help these doctors work less while making more. So yes, they’ll meet their financial goals. Yes, they’ll be well-known in their communities; they’ll enjoy life to its fullest… But they’ll also get to be with their families. Because people don’t get a second chance for that. I’ve realized that everything changes when people have the time to devote to their families— their relationships are richer, they are happier, even their Practices become more successful! So that’s what we are really all about. And I can tell you, my team and I are incredibly passionate about what we do… Which is why we consistently have such incredible results with all of our clients.

If you are interested in learning more about the Scheduling Institute, or are ready to try something new that will take your Practice to the next level, call 866-917-2808 today! My team will be more than happy to answer your questions and get you started on the very exciting journey to transforming your team, your Practice, your results, and your life.

Enjoy your summer and stay productive!

jaysig

Jay Geier

Feel free to check us out and like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Schedulinginstitute!

Leave a Reply

