Setting the Record Straight

Standard

The funny thing about the internet is, you feel like you know people that you’ve never met. You look up reviews, read other people’s opinions, read whatever you can get your hands on. And if it’s a rich person, there are usually two very polarized opinions that you’ll find:

You’ll find the opinions of people that know them– the truth about them. And then you’ll find the opinions of everybody else. And you know the one thing that everybody else has in common? Well, they typically dislike that person. All they know is it’s a rich person. In my specific case, a rich person who sends a LOT of marketing to their office. You don’t know a damn thing about them, but– as humans– that has never held us back from judging those people. True, right?

I want to let you in on something. I want to give you a little bit of insight to who I am, because honestly, what do you really KNOW about me? You know what you’ve read. A lot of it positive, a lot of it negative. But unless you’ve been in the room with me, and we’ve talked directly, I can tell you one thing–you don’t genuinely know the first thing about me.

Before I was just “some rich dude”, I was a kid in a middle class family. I loved working when I was young– loved it. I started when I was 12. I washed dishes; I cut lawns; I trimmed hedges. You name it, I did it all. And the funny thing is, I was always trying to do it faster and better. I competed with myself–how fast could I mow that lawn? So that’s something you probably didn’t know about me.

But here’s something else– I did all that work (and I LIKED doing it) because I wanted something. I’m not ashamed to admit it. I wasn’t then and I’m definitely not now! I worked my butt off to be the best at all these “crappy” jobs because I wanted things. I had a “selfish list”. It actually started with a go-kart. I wanted a go-kart so badly I was having dreams about it! And you know what? I saved up and I got the go-kart.

So, fast-forward to today. Now I run a company that I built from the ground up: the largest training and coaching company in the world. That’s not a figure of speech (for those of you that don’t know about my company)–we’ve had over 13,000 on-site trainings. We have the largest staff training university. That’s just a fact. I’m a speaker, an author, and a coach to thousands of doctors. And now my list of “wants” has CHANGED. Now I want to be able to make the greatest impact possible. I’ve realized that rather than feeling guilty about being rich–which a ton of people do, oddly enough–I’m going to use all the gifts I’m given to the best of my ability. I use my money by donating millions of dollars every year. I use my God-given abilities as a speaker and a teacher to transform practices around the world– even though I don’t need to work anymore. I go to Mount Pisgah Christian Church and I try to live out the best life that I possibly can. Of course, I screw up sometimes. I get irritated. I have bad weeks. But if you ask someone that genuinely KNOWS me, they will tell you… These things matter so much to me. The ability to impact others’ lives in a meaningful way has become my whole world.

So, maybe you believe me and maybe you don’t. But I wanted to try to give a little bit of insight into who I really am behind the suits, the helicopter, the marketing pieces you get every week. I am a guy that really loves working to get what he wants. I’m a father and I’m a Christian. I’m an entrepreneur. I’m a go-getter. I’m someone who loves to lead. And I don’t want you to miss out on giving me a chance to help you out just because of some crazy image you have of me. Tonight, I wanted to try to set the record straight.

 

Until next time,

jaysig

Jay Geier

One thought on “Setting the Record Straight

  1. Gotta say, when I first became exposed to SI and Jay Geier, I was skeptical and dubious about the motives of the company and, because of what I perceived as empty sales techniques, Jay.
    As time went by, however, I came to know that nothing neither nor his team was recommending was immoral or unreasonable.
    Since joining 5X, my team has had multiple exposures to Jay and his team and the consensus is that his passion is to do good – to grow fruit on other people’s trees – and to teach us to do the same. Nothing more. Success is a byproduct of this attitude. He is a proponent and sensei of “the more you give the more you get.” I’m growing as a person and so are my teammates. Thanks Jay!

Leave a Reply

